Orange Chocolatey Chip Bundt Cake with Lemon Glaze… I love citrus!

Since starting this Living Well and Spending Less challenge, if I want something, I make it instead of buying it.

I. Want. Cake.

So naturally, I consult the few cookbooks that I have. I wanted to go through the new cookbook my sister got me for Christmas first… Isa Does It by Isa Chandra Moskowitz She is indeed, one of my favorite vegan authors, if not my favorite. I had yet to check out the Dessert chapter. There were so many delicious recipes, everything from oatmeal raison cookies to Just Chocolate Cake. Somewhere in between, was this amazing recipe for Orange Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake, and a few pages prior was Lemon Cookies with Lemon Glaze. So, I decided to collide their two worlds together by using the lemon glaze on my Bundt cake. Good move. Because it went from this…

Plain Orange Chocolate Bundt Cake

Plain Orange Chocolate Bundt Cake

To this…
Spectacular, Lemony Delicious Orange Chocolate Bundt Cake

Spectacular, Lemony Delicious Orange Chocolate Bundt Cake

But you can’t start cooking without…

Amazing Red Wine, Latue

Amazing Red Wine, Latue

So I grabbed my bottle of Latue, that I bought especially to drink while I cook, poured myself a generous glass and went to work. This recipe is so simple, and I only needed one bowl for the whole thing. Even though by the looks of some of Isa’s recipes, (yes, we are on a first name basis, I wish. Though we did meet during a fleeting moment at the Atlanta VegFest, and I have the picture to prove it!) they look difficult, nothing I’ve ever made of hers has been less than fantastic! The hardest part of this recipe was fresh squeezing the orange juice and zesting the rind. Though I do tend to tweak things here and there. For this recipe I deviated by adding a 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa and decreasing the sugar a tad. I now know that when you add this sweet lemon glaze to this delectable cake, you can probably decrease the sugar from 1 cup to 3/4 of a cup.

This cake is moist and full of flavor, and it only has 1/3 cup of oil in the whole thing!

So let’s get to it!

Orange Chocolatey Chip Bundt Cake by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and tweaked a little by me!
1 cup almond milk (or your favorite non-dairy milk)
1/2 cup fresh orange juice (don’t skimp here, it is so worth it!)
1/3 cup canola oil (organic or non-GMO!)
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
1 tablespoon cornstarch (organic or non-GMO!)
1 cup granulated sugar (I would suggest 3/4 cup)
1 tablespoon or more grated orange zest
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour (I used organic spouted spelt flour and it was fine)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 12-cup Bundt pan and set aside.

In a large bowl, vigorously whisk together the milk, orange juice, canola oil, applesauce, ground flaxseed, and cornstarch. The mixture should become foamy. Mix in the sugar and whisk until well combined, 30 seconds or so. Mix in the orange zest and vanilla.

Use a fine mesh strainer or a sifter to sift in about half of the flour, all of the baking powder, the baking soda, and salt. Mix until well combined, and then add the rest of the flour and mix until smooth. Sift in the unsweetened cocoa and then fold in with the chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 50-55 minutes. (50 minutes was all mine needed). While the cake is baking make the glaze.

Lemon Glaze
2 cups confectioners sugar
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon refined coconut oil, melted

Place the confectioners sugar in a large bowl. If it is very hard and clumpy, you’ll need to sift it, but if its relatively soft and the clumps easily turn to powder when pinched, no need. Add the lemon juice, vanilla, and coconut oil and stir vigorously, until thick and smooth but pourable icing forms. If it seems way too thick, add lemon juice (or warm water) by the teaspoon until desired texture is achieved.

When the timer goes off, the top should be browned and puffed and firm to touch. Stick a knife through the center to test for doneness.

Let cool for 10 minutes, then invert on a cooling rack to let cool completely. When cooled completely, add the lemon glaze!

There you have it… the path to chocolatey citrus heaven! ENJOY!!!!

A slice of Citrusy Heaven!

A slice of Citrusy Heaven!

Leave a comment